ADF Day 24 – A Pound of Flesh

After yesterday’s toilet adventures, I slept, awoke, peed, and weighed myself. I’ve dropped another eight pounds in the last eight days. I now weigh 290.8 lbs, down from 312. If the new scale is accurate, I’ve lost over twenty pounds in the last 24 days, since starting this thing on March 1st. Or to state it sideways, I’ve lost close to a pound of jiggling flesh per day.

Boy, am I fat. That’s a lot, and maybe it’s too much, but I’m not sure I want to do anything to slow the loss, because I don’t feel like it. I’m following the modified ADF pattern in accordance with my reading and research, that’s all. I feel fine. And I like being able to tie my shoes without coming up for air. I like feeling lighter on my feet. I noticed yesterday that I’m having to pull my pants up higher like an old man, and I’m definitely tightening the belt. So I’m going to keep doing what’s working and trust that the loss will slow as I get down to a more reasonable weight; everything I’ve read and heard says that’ll be the case.

I made two changes worth noting this week. First, I resumed tracking my meals on feast days via the MyFitnessPal app, not because I’m concerned with eating too much, but to help keep a record of what I’m eating. I figure that data could illuminate trends regarding how I feel on fast days. Second, I went to WalMart and bought some Phase8 Protein supplement (by Muscletech). A scoop only has 150 calories and delivers 26 grams of protein. I decided to take it with my evening meals to try and prevent muscle loss while I’m eating so much less. I’m not worried about gaining muscle right now — I just want to keep what I’ve got.

Leave a Reply

